Skip to content

Faculty

Stephanie A. Bohon
Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies and Associate Director of the Center for the Study of Social Justice
Social and Applied Demography, New Destination Immigration, Latino Migration, Ethnic Economies, and Immigrant Incorporation/Adaptation
Email: sbohon@utk.edu


Michelle BrownMichelle Brown
Professor and Associate Head
Carceral Studies; Law & Society; Transformative Justice; Theory, Culture & Media; Feminist Perspectives
Email: mbrow121@utk.edu


Michelle ChristianMichelle Christian
Assistant Professor
Critical race and racism, Global political economy, Labor 
Email: mchris20@utk.edu


Meghan ConleyMeghan Conley
Director of Community Partnerships
Crimmigration; Latinx Migration; Participatory Action Research; Social Movements
Email: mconley2@utk.edu


Harry F. DahmsHarry F. Dahms
Professor; Co-Director, Center for the Study of Social Justice; Co-Chair, Committee on Social Theory
Theory (Classical, Contemporary, Critical), Globalization, Economic Sociology/Political Economy, Social Inequalities, Entrepreneurship
Email: hdahms@utk.edu


Shaneda DestineShaneda Destine
Assistant Professor
Race, Class, and Gender; Black Social Movements; Intersectionality; Critical Race and Political Economy
Email: sdestine@utk.edu


Christina ErgasChristina Ergas
Assistant Professor
Environmental Sociology, Environmental Justice, Globalization and Development, Gender and the Environment
Email: cergas@utk.edu


R. Scott FreyR. Scott Frey
Professor and Co-Director of the Center for the Study of Social Justice (CSSJ)
Environmental Sociology, Development, Comparative/Historical Sociology
Email: rfrey2@utk.edu


Paul K. GellertPaul K. Gellert
Associate Professor
Environmental Sociology, Development, Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Economy, Asian Studies, Global Studies
Email: pgellert@utk.edu


Kasey HenricksKasey Henricks
Assistant Professor
Race and Ethnicity, Public Finance, Research Methods
Email: henricks@utk.edu


Asafa JalataAsafa Jalata
Professor
Political Economy, Global Studies/World-Systems, Race and Ethnicity, Sociology of Development, Globalization and Social Movements, Terrorism Studies, Human Rights, and Africana Studies
Email: ajalata@utk.edu


Robert Emmet JonesRobert Emmet Jones
Professor
Environmental Sociology, Human Dimensions of Ecosystem Management, Public Opinion and Policy, Research Methods, Rural Sociology, Social Psychology
Email: mountain@utk.edu


Lois PresserLois Presser
Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Criminological Theory, Narrative Criminology, Harm, Violence, Restorative Justice
Email: lpresser@utk.edu


Jon ShefnerVictor Ray
Assistant Professor
Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Stratification, Qualitative Methods
Email: vray3@utk.edu


Jon ShefnerLouise Seamster
Postdoctoral Teaching Associate
Race and Political Economy
Email: lseamste@utk.edu


Jon ShefnerJon Shefner
Professor and Head
Political Economy of Development, Globalization, Social Movements, Latin America
Email: jshefner@utk.edu


Tyler WallTyler Wall
Assistant Professor
Critical Police Studies; State Violence and Racial Capitalism; Law & Society, Race and Class
Email: twall3@utk.edu


The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.