Skip to content

Sociology in the News

Sociology faculty and graduate students shine at Chancellor's Honor's Banquet

Last night, amid an enormous amount of orange - lights, tablecloths, cake - Sociology again stood out because of our excellence.

I am so delighted to report the following award winners:

  • Michelle Brown won the Jefferson Prize, an award "for significant contributions for research and creative activity".
  • Lisa East and Steve Panageotou each won citations for Academic Achievement.
  • Enkeshi Thom won the award for Extraordinary Campus Leadership and Service.
  • Caitlin Mize won the award for Extraordinary Community Service.

These are wonderful recognitions of these excellent scholars. I know all of us congratulate them, and we are deeply proud of their accomplishments.  They make us all look good.

I want to thank all the nominators and letter writers also, especially Stephanie Bohon for coordinating and working on the awards won by graduate students.  The University's recognition of the excellence of our community's work comes only with significant work on many people's parts.

I'm also delighted to tell you that the Department as a whole received the Marva Rudolph Diversity and Intercuturalism Unit Excellence Award, only the second given in the University's history.  This award recognizes our "outstanding leadership and consistent contributions to diversity and inclusion at UT."

This award truly belongs to all of us.  It is yet another recognition of our leadership in social justice scholarship and action across the university, city, and state.  It is another sign that even in difficult times, we stand up for what is right.



The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.