Department of Sociology


Faculty & Staff

See Also: Faculty Research by Interest Area

  • Faculty
  • Affiliated
  • Emeritus
  • Lecturers
Damayanti BanerjeeDamayanti Banerjee
Assistant Professor
Environmental Inequality, Environmental Justice Movements, Natural Resource Management, Globalization and Environment, Gendered Understanding of Environment and Cultural Studies of Environment
Email: dbanerj2@utk.edu
Stephanie A. BohonStephanie A. Bohon
Associate Professor and Associate Director of the Center for the Study of Social Justice (CSSJ)
Social and Applied Demography, New Destination Immigration, Latino Migration, Ethnic Economies, and Immigrant Incorporation/Adaptation
Email: sbohon@utk.edu
Michelle BrownMichelle Brown
Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Carceral Studies; Law & Society; Transformative Justice; Theory, Culture & Media; Feminist Perspectives
Email: mbrow121@utk.edu
Hoan BuiHoan Bui
Associate Professor
Intimate-Partner Violence, Juvenile Delinquency, Immigration and Crime, Women/Minorities in Criminal Justice
Email: hbui@utk.edu
Sherry CableSherry Cable
Professor
Environmental Sociology, Social Movements, Environmental justice
Email: scable@utk.edu
Michelle ChristianMichelle Christian
Assistant Professor
Globalization, Political Economy, Racial Stratification, Labor, Global Tourism 
Email: mchris20@utk.edu
Harry F. DahmsHarry F. Dahms
Associate Professor, and Co-Director of the Center for the Study of Social Justice (CSSJ)
Theory (Cassical, Contemporary, Critical), Globalization, Economic Sociology/Political Economy, Social Inequalities, Entrepreneurship
Email: hdahms@utk.edu
R. Scott FreyRobert DurĂ¡n
Assistant Professor
Urban Ethnography, Racial and Ethnic Inequality, Social Control, Gangs, Officer-Involved Shootings, Public Health
Email: rduran@utk.edu
R. Scott FreyR. Scott Frey
Professor and Co-Director of the Center for the Study of Social Justice (CSSJ)
Environmental Sociology, Development, Comparative/Historical Sociology
Email: rfrey2@utk.edu
Paul K. GellertPaul K. Gellert
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Environmental Sociology, Development, Comparative/Historical Sociology, Political Economy, Asian Studies, Global Studies
Email: pgellert@utk.edu
Asafa JalataAsafa Jalata
Professor
Political Economy, Global Studies, Race and Ethnicity, Sociology of Development, National Movements, Terrorism, Nationalism, African and African-American Studies
Email: ajalata@utk.edu
Robert Emmet JonesRobert Emmet Jones
Professor
Environmental Sociology, Human Dimensions of Ecosystem Management, Public Opinion and Policy, Research Methods, Rural Sociology, Social Psychology
Email: mountain@utk.edu
Lois PresserLois Presser
Professor, Associate Head
Criminological Theory, Narrative Criminology, Harm, Violence, Restorative Justice
Email: lpresser@utk.edu
Jon ShefnerVictor Ray
Assistant Professor
Race and Ethnicity, Gender, Stratification, Qualitative Methods
Email: vray3@utk.edu
Jon ShefnerJon Shefner
Professor and Head
Political Economy of Development, Globalization, Social Movements, Latin America
Email: jshefner@utk.edu
Chien-fei ChenChien-fei Chen
Adjunct Research Assistant Professor
Social Psychology, Social Impact of Energy and Environmental Issues Social Networks, Norms and Health
Email: cchen26@utk.edu
Michael BetzMichael Betz
Sociology of Medicine, Alternative Health Care Systems
Email: mbetz@utk.edu
James BlackJames Black
Homicide Studies, Multiple Offender Killings, Murder for Hire, Crime Films and Society
Email: jblack5@utk.edu
Thomas C. HoodThomas C. Hood
Collective Behavior and Social Movements, Environmental Sociology, Theoretical Social Psychology
Email: tomhood@utk.edu
Regina Benedict
Criminology, Gender, Women in Prison
rbenedic@utk.edu
Yuri Chumakov
Sociology of Religion, National Identity, Gender and Rel
Email: ychumako@utk.edu
Judy Morelock
Social Psychology, Family, and Stratification
Email: jmoreloc@utk.edu
James Talley
Political Economy, Environmental Sociology, Research Methods
Email: jtalley2@utk.edu


 

Contribute to a big idea. Give to the Department of Sociology.

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. Big Orange. Big Ideas.

Knoxville, Tennessee 37996 | 865-974-1000
The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System